08 Mar

Council Amalgamations

On 12 May 2016 the NSW Government announced the formation of 19 new councils.

The proclamation of the new Bayside Council occurred on 9 September 2016, following the conclusion of legal action by Botany Bay City Council in the Court of Appeal.

This took the total number of new councils created in 2016 to 20.

Read the progress report outlining the achievements of these councils

On 14 February 2017, the Government announced it is continuing its in-principle support for the creation of a further five new councils in metropolitan Sydney, subject to decisions of the courts.

This would see the number of councils in Greater Sydney reduced from 41 to 24.

There will be no further regional council mergers. Regional councils have already undergone much more consolidation than the city – prior to the new councils created in 2016, regional council numbers had already decreased from 133 to 111 in the past 15 years. By comparison, in Sydney, most council boundaries have not changed since the 1940s, and some have remained unchanged for more than 100 years.

The 20 new stronger, more efficient councils that have already been established will remain in place and are working harder for residents and delivering better services and infrastructure such as roads, parks, playgrounds and sporting facilities.

New councils will receive a wide range of additional benefits:

  • Each new council will receive up to $15 million to invest in community projects like junior sporting facilities, playgrounds and library or pool upgrades.
  • Each new council will receive up to $10 million to streamline administrative processes and cut red tape, with the option of redirecting unspent funds into community projects.
  • Ratepayers in new council areas will not experience rate rises as a result of mergers. They will pay no more for their rates than they would have under their old council for the next four years.

The following new councils commenced in 2016: